Railroading, or "Just Say Yes"

223 posts / 0 new
Last post
The title of this forum post is pretty self-explanatory.  When you create an epic adventure, with all sorts of loot and awesome encounters and wacky NPCs, you can't wait for your PCs to get going and explore this quest you've set out for them.

Then your players say no.

What to do?  Do I have to have something prepared for every decision they make, or is there an acceptable level of railroading?  I'm not very good at improvising, so that's not really an option.
This falls under 'player responsibility' to me.  If you dangle a plot hook, unless it's completely ridiculous, they should take it.  It's part of the cooperative storytelling thing.  You went through the effort to prep the game, they should reward that effort by, y'know, playing.
"Buy-in" is the buzz word being thrown about lately for situations like this. Make sure the players have at least some idea of what you're wanting to get them into and make sure they're on board for it before sitting down at the table. That way you have enough time to adequately craft something that you already know everyone is up for. A week or half in advance is generally best for forwarning, and details are as easy to relay as an email or text to everyone in the group.

Happy Gaming
"Buy-in" is the buzz word being thrown about lately for situations like this. Make sure the players have at least some idea of what you're wanting to get them into and make sure they're on board for it before sitting down at the table. That way you have enough time to adequately craft something that you already know everyone is up for. A week or half in advance is generally best for forwarning, and details are as easy to relay as an email or text to everyone in the group.

Happy Gaming

Right!