Two-Headed Giant Questions

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm new to the format and I keep running into a lot of rules questions regarding it. So I have a list of questions.

1. Each player is considered a seperate entity, so any effect that would hit all players (or opponents) will hit each team member, yes? So a Pestilence will hit a team for 2 total points, instead of 1. This would also mean that a Circle of Protection: Black can only save the one player, and not the other.

2. If I have a creature with Islandwalk and either of my opponents controls an island, then no opponent can block it, correct?

3. When you attack, are you attacking one player directly and any creature can be used to block it, or are you attacking the team?

If I think of more, then I'll add them here.
1. Each player is considered a seperate entity

Nothing in MTG cares about "entities". I think you meant:

Each person is a player.
so any effect that would hit all players (or opponents) will hit each team member, yes? So a Pestilence will hit a team for 2 total points, instead of 1.

Yes.

This would also mean that a Circle of Protection: Black can only save the one player, and not the other.

Yes.

2. If I have a creature with Islandwalk and either of my opponents controls an island, then no opponent can block it, correct?

Islandwalk made it unblockable, and an unblockable can't be blocked by anyone.

3. When you attack, are you attacking one player directly and any creature can be used to block it, or are you attacking the team?

The defending team can block with any creature they have. [CR 810.7d]

...and when your attacking creature actually deals combat damage, it deals it to only one of the team's player (your choice). [CR 810.7f]

If I steal a hundred dollar from a loot of one thousand, people might notice;

If I steal a hundred dollar from a loot of one million, I might get away with it;

If I wish to steal even more and still go unnoticed, I need to make the loot bigger.