Help with Ranger|Cleric Hybrid!

50 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi!  I'm new to DnD and my playgroup is starting a campaign made by our DM which ought to take us from lv1 to lv15.  We currently have:

Mul Battlerager Fighter
Minotaur Barbarian (idk what kind)
Bard
Hengeyokai Rogue

Our Bard has a few healing abilities but not many, and in the combat simulations we've been doing with lv1-5 characters pitted against level-appropriate encounters, I've found that my character, which I intended to be a Striker, needs to have some healing capacity, at least for the purpose of self-sufficiency.  With that in mind I put together the following build.  All materials are fair game, except Backgrounds and Themes, which our group decided to avoid because they give characters free bonuses with few, if any, drawbacks.

I'd love any criticism on suboptimal choices which I have likely made here, so I can optimize this character with the following goals, prioritized in order:
1) Primarily Striker - Solid DPR with Encounter/Daily Nova capability
2) Self-sufficient in terms of managing own HP
3) Able to provide some party utility or healing

THE CHARACTER
Munch, level 6
Longtooth Shifter, Ranger|Cleric
Hybrid Cleric Option: Battle Cleric's Lore
Hybrid Ranger Option: Hybrid Ranger Reflex
Hybrid Talent: Ranger Fighting Style
Ranger Fighting Style: Two-Blade Fighting Style (Hybrid)

FINAL ABILITY SCORES
STR 19, CON 13, DEX 14, INT 10, WIS 17, CHA 8

STARTING ABILITY SCORES
STR 18, CON 13, DEX 14, INT 10, WIS 16, CHA 8

DEFENSES AND HP
AC: 23 Fort: 18 Ref: 17 Will: 18
HP: 55 Surges: 7 Surge Value: 13

TRAINED SKILLS
Athletics +14, Dungeoneering +11, Heal +11, Perception +11

UNTRAINED SKILLS
Acrobatics +5, Arcana +3, Bluff +2, Diplomacy +2, Endurance +7, History +3, Insight +6, Nature +6, Religion +3, Stealth +5, Streetwise +2, Thievery +5

POWERS
Basic Attack: Melee Basic Attack
Basic Attack: Ranged Basic Attack
Longtooth Shifter Racial Power: Longtooth Shifting