First-Time DnD'r: Player Clash?

33 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey all, I'm new to DnD, but my girlfriend and I found out a friend used to DM, and got a couple other friends interested.

Our DM has been clear that based on his personal preferences, and our inexperience playing, he is hoping for a flavorful, story-driven RP experience more than just encounters and mechanics (though he promises to try and give us our fill of that, for the players who want it).

Last night we played our second real session, finishing up an encounter and moving forward. This is where things took a strange turn:

My character is essentially Tom Bombadil from LotR, and as such, when the last two Kobolds threw down their weapons and starting whimpering, I healed them, gave them food, and rolled a 34 diplomacy check to move them to "neutral but suspicious". The night essentially became entirely RP, and long story short, I talked fast enough to make one Kobold friendly and got us in to meet the High Priest.

At this point, our mission being a simple "clear out the Kobold infestation", I rolled a crit bluff check to convince them to leave (which failed, apparently Dragons have a pretty badass hold on their cult). The thing is, I thought it would improve my chances to speak in Draconic, and since only my girlfriend speaks Draconic out of the group, I wrote the message to the DM. This upset my friend greatly, because he felt that I was "taking control of the game" and that I was keeping things from the other player "for no reason". He argued that it wasn't worth the flavor to keep secrets unless they were important, and that by doing this I was preventing the other players from being involved. I had the rest of the conversation out loud (but still in Draconic) and frequently asked for input on what to ask next or what sort of direction to lead the Priest.