Handouts!

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
I just started playing and my job is DM.  So I wanted to know what fellow DMs did for handouts - I think they add a lot to the immersion factor, so I love using them in all my games.  Also, I want to know what players like when it comes to handouts.  Thanks!

I'll start with my past experiences.  On my first adventure, the characters started in a hotel, and one of the characters went completely nuts and tried to break into everything, so she got a skeleton key for the hotel.

For a game that didn't happen (tried to set up a game at my local game shop, no one showed up - try, try again!), the characters were sent by a secretly evil Elven king to wipe out an orc tribe.  In the encounter against the orcs, there was a secret tunnel underneath the ground (used the Ruins of War dungeon tiles - sometime I'll post a picture of the map), where you find a letter from an orc to his family revealing the true motives of the Elf king.  I wrote the letter in English, used an English-to-orc online translator, and used a symbol font to print it out.  I also printed out the English copy in case one of the players spoke Giant.  If none of them did, I either would have improvised something or never revealed the king's evilness.  Probably better that the session didn't happen, or that would've been a rough spot.

For my next adventure, there's a little transluscent plastic marble-like-thing that kinda looks like there's flame inside it.  I think I might make it some sort of gem that enchants any weapon/magic implement it's placed inside.  Maybe I'll make it something more powerful and build an entire quest around the party acquiring it.

So, what are your experiences with handouts?