Two Weapon Fighting

So last night, I was thinking about ways to move Two Weapon Fighting from the Feat Chain side of things and over to the Ability side of things. Now, I'm not a game designer and I have no idea how well the numbers I threw together would work, but the general idea was to provide a simple, coherent system for two-weapon fighting for those people who want to go Featless. I also wanted it to be Class angostic, so that a Rogue/Ranger/Monk/Whoever could pick it up if they wanted.

So here's my proposal-

Two-Weapon Fighting: If you have a Strength or Dexterity score of 16 or higher, you may attack with a One-Handed Weapon in your main hand and a Light Weapon in your off-hand once per round. You do not add your Ability modifier to the damage of the off-hand attack. If BOTH your Strength and Dexterity are 16 or higher, you may use any One-Handed Weapon in your off-hand instead.

Thoughts?
I dislike giving two-weapon fighting ability away, without an associated cost, because it provides an extra attack; which is usually reserved for a mid to high level advancement.

However, if you really want it to be available without Feats:

• require the Off-hand weapon to be Light and Finesse

• require the attacker have Advantage on their attack, which must be forfeit to make the second attack

• no ability modifier to the attacks or damage

Save anything more complex for the Feat.
I understand the complaint, but I was trying to come up with a system that was Featless for those people who don't want/intend to use/allow feats in their games.