Boy this is confusing.

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello everyone, I am just getting started with D&D (The 4th edition Red Box is being sent in the mail as we speak) but I have a question. While rummaging around through my shed I found a Advanced Dungeons and Dragons monstrous manual. Upon inspection the book states "With the DUNGEON MASTER Guide (DMG) and the player's Handbook (PHB), the Monstrous Manual forms the core of the AD&D 2nd Edition game. This causes some speculation, where can I get the 2nd edition board game plus the manuals and other stuff and if so what should I get (seeing as there is a shart load of D&D stuff both new and old it's rather confuzzelsome), Is the 2nd edition even a tangible board game or does it require you drawing your own maps and whatnot, Is the second edition Monstrous Manual compatible with The 4th edition Red Box? All these questions.....bleh. Also if no one knows what I'm talking about it's probably cause even I don't know what I am talking about. This is all new to me and I haven't even played or DM'ed a game yet. So any help will be appreciated!
I am Black/Green
I am Black/Green
AD&D 2nd is vastly different from 4th edition. A lot of people playing earlier editions don't use any maps or miniatures. Try to find out more about 2nd edition and see if you like the idea behind it, if you do just buy the PHB and DMG. I'm pretty sure Wizards just reprinted all of the D&D books recently, so you can find them online anywhere. Good luck.

lol d&d "tangible board game"
AD&D 2nd is vastly different from 4th edition. A lot of people playing earlier editions don't use any maps or miniatures. Try to find out more about 2nd edition and see if you like the idea behind it, if you do just buy the PHB and DMG. I'm pretty sure Wizards just reprinted all of the D&D books recently, so you can find them online anywhere. Good luck.

lol d&d "tangible board game"