Dragon 422: Tinker Gnomes

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
Was anyone else other than me surprised — and, I think, more than a bit disappointed — that they chose to present this as a completely new Race instead of as a Racial Variant of Gnomes, as they treated Draconians as a Variant of Dragonborn?  There's nothing presented in the race, feature-wise, that couldn't have been handled by trade-outs, and would have allowed much more diversity for those who like the race, especially in settings like Eberron and the Realms where the two "branches" would be much more closely related.

Otherwise, I was a bit... underwhelmed, I suppose would be the term.  Not just by the Tinkers, but by the whole magazine (though I suppose when they decide to supply 16 pages worth of tables for an optional system, that's what you'll end up with).  But I definitely think Tinkers would have been more... useful, yes, useful as a Variant.   I'll probably end up houseruling that the two races can exchange relative features and use each others' feats.
While I am suprised by the fact it's an alternate race, I like it. Another INT/CON race h*ll ya. Quick fix mixed with Quick tinker is awesome. All in all I like the tinker gnome.
 As far as the rest of 422 well.... the magic fiddle is nice and...so is the horn, plus nice fluff for Hyrsam. The 16 pages of how to build a random background is useful for beginner players, I'll probably use it for NPCs.
any article that contains the phrase "Roll on Table 30: Circus" can't be all bad
is the random background thing like the one in heroes of the feywild?
What is the purpose of "Use What’s at Hand"........ Proficiency with Improvised Weapons?

Isn't everyone already "Proficient" with them... that's why they are improvised and have crappy stats. (+0 Attack Bonus and 1d4/1d8 Damage).

Unless i am missing something big... this is the most obsolete Feature Ever...