Hybrid Question

17 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello everyone.

I'm fairly new to D&D, I've played a few campaigns and have created a few characters. But I don't get one thing and that's how to build a hybrid character. Are there specific rules to follow when building one? If so, what are they?

I have done a bit of reading on the subject, but still don't fully grasp on how to go about building one properly.

Lets say I want to create an Avenger/Assassin or a Paladin/Battlemind, etc. Do I choose powers as normal, but from each class? Or when I level up, do I have to choose from one specific set?

If anyone could lay it out, in plain and simple terms. I would really appreciate it.

I would just like to learn everything about a game that I'm very passionate about.
Pick up the PHB3.  That has the hybrid class rules. 

There are specific rules for each class that can hybrid. 

I would suggest though, that you do not hybrid until you are very familiar with the game and the rules because there are lots of things that are different between hybrids and regular classes.

Learn the game, enjoy the game.  But do not hybrid yet.  It can make you frustrated if you do not understand the system that hybrids use. 
I have a handbook in my sig about how to do various things. I highly recommend having a ddi subscription to do all the work for you in terms of character building(plus the ability to look up every single power you might want to use)