New Player, Building a Red/Blue Izzet-Themed Deck

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
So, I'm brand-spanking new to the Magic Game. I have a whole bunch of friends who play and have always encouraged me to get into it, but never really jumped in for one reason or another. I started playing with some pre-made decks last week, and really enjoyed myself... and now I kind of want to build my own deck!

I had my buddy explain to me a lot of the Lore and Meta behind the game, and I got really attached to the idea of playing a Red/Blue deck (the idea of balancing power and control appealed to me). After doing some research, I know a lot of the newer Izzet and Ravnica content is made up around that theme, which is good news for me.

I did some digging to find decent cards with those colors and a few strategies that go along with them, but I'm not sure on how to optimize combos or if there are better spells out there. Keep in mind I'm going to be purchasing a lot of these cards, but at this point budget is not really an issue. This was my rough idea:

Creatures (16)
Niv-Mizzet, Dracogenius (1)
Snapcaster Mage (4)
Izzet Guildmage (4)
Gelectrode (4)
Goblin Electromancer (3)

Instant (12)
Lightning Bolt (4)
Mana Leak (4)
Prophetic Bolt (2)
Brainstorm (2)

Sorcery (4)
Invoke the Firemind (1)
Epic Experiment (1)
Rift Bolt (2)

Enchantment (4)
Curiosity (4)

Lands (24)
Nivix, Aerie of the Firemind (1)
Sulfar Falls (4)
Cascade Bluffs (4)
Izzet Boilerworks (4)
Steam Vents (2)
Island (4)
Mountain (4)
-- One More Land, not sure which.