I love the ingenuity players can have

So several weeks ago, I started writing a mini-campaign specifically with the rules for Next in mind. Last night, I got a chance to run it with some friends, and I love how they came up with ideas to use things I had written into the adventure in ways I never anticipated.

I won't go into all of the specifics of the adventure, but I got inspiration for one area while I was at work. I'm a network technician, and I also end up building all of the servers we have. I had just ordered an HP rack mount server, and I was adding an extra processor to it, which requires additional cooling fans. The "blank" fan bays have these little black boxes that are place holders in case you aren't adding additional processors/fans. The little black "blank boxes" are the perfect size to place over D&D minis to make a "cell" that can fit about 3 minis standing up inside.

So I added a trap to the room that had a couple of trigger points in the floor that would cause these "cells" to drop from the ceiling. When the characters (3 of them) triggered the traps, they all made dexterity saves (all 3 of them rolled natural 17s, and the DC was 10 since the traps made noise while they were falling).

One of the corridors from that room led to an enclosed room with 8 skeletons inside. The skeletons were standing in front of a carving on the rear wall of the room that the characters couldn't quite make out without getting the skeletons to move out of the way (presumably by fighting them). Instead of fighting the skeletons, they came up with a brilliant plan.

The dwarf paladin successfully snuck down the corridor until he had a clear shot at one of the skeletons. The skeletons as a group failed their wisdom check to detect the approaching dwarf. At that point, he threw his light axe at the skeleton that he had a clear shot at and nailed him. He just happened to pick the skeleton that I had rolled the lowest HP for (only 6) and he took him out in one shot.