Converting Smiley Bob to a Unique Companion Character

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm looking for assistance from my fellow DMs as I've never done this before. Using the Unique Companion Character creation rules in DMG2 have I converted the Bear from the adventure in the title properly? He's technically using a Maul. Does he count as a Medium creature? What's his speed? What's his vision? Languages don't matter as he can't talk. Alignment? Thank you kindly.

Smiley Bob, Bear (natural beast)
Level 3 Defender
Str 16, Con 16, Dex 12, Int 10, Wis 12, Cha 8
AC 20, Fort 18, Reflex 16, Will 14
HP 44/22/11, Surges 12
+8 Althelics / Endurance, +6 Nature / Stealth

Melee Basic Attack (Standard)
+8 vs. AC, 2d6+5 Damage, Marked until end of his next turn

Crushing Surge (Standard)
+8 vs. AC, 2d6+5 Damage, Invigorating

Bell Ringer (Standard)
+8 vs. Fort, Dazed, 3 Damage, Invigorating

Battle Fury Stance (Minor)
+2 Power Bonus to Damage, -2 penalty to AC, end by spending a Surge or a Free Action 
I think I would take from the Bear companion that either the beastmaster ranger or Sentinel druid gets. Maybe some minor tweaking to make him better fit Smiley Bob from that article. This would make him more of a companion (some help in battle, but not much). Your suggested version bumps him up all the way to a heroic PC level - making him as powerful & survivably as a heroic fighter. If that's your intent - then your version seems right on the money.

If you wanted Smiley Bob more as a "lackey" in terms of battle prowess and durability, the below might be better for you. Still does decent damage, but isn't a walking mountain of HP.

So at level 3...

Druid's bear
HP: 20
Init: +4
Def: AC 16 Fort 18 Ref 14 Will 18
Size: medium
Speed 6 low light vision
Aura 1: Allies gain +2 power bonus to all defences while in the aura
Melee basic +9 va AC, 1d12 + 9
Str 20 Dex 12 Wis 16
Con 17 Int 2 Cha 6
Trained: Perception

Ranger's bear (not sure if this is right)
HP 36
Init +2