new dm

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
i am new to dming, ive played before but not 4e and i was only able to interest 2 other people who have never played dnd before
i am new to dming, ive played before but not 4e and i was only able to interest 2 other people who have never played dnd before

Welcome aboard.

4e is comparatively easy to DM and relatively easy to pick up as a first game.  If you've played much earlier versions of D&D, you might have a little adjustment to do, if you've just played other games besides D&D, you should be fine.

Two people is a small group, and you probably don't want to go to the trouble of making companion characters.  You might consider running a leader as a purely background support character, if neither player is interested in one.  Getting a third player would really help.

A party of three probably is easiest to deal with if it is a striker, leader & defender.  The controller is the most complicated role, anyway - just avoid swarms or too many minions.  Remember to reduce encounter difficulties accordingly.  

If you go forward with two players, a Defender & Striker or Leader & Striker can work, especialy if the Defender is a Paladin (a secondary leader with some healing).  I ran a brief but very successful game with a Paladin & Rogue as PCs.

You could also just have each player run two characters - a daunting way to try to learn the game, put not impossible.

Oops, looks like this request tried to create an infinite loop. We do not allow such things here. We are a professional website!

I recently ran a very successful game with a psion, warlock, and cleric. Sounds like it would've been hard, but I think they had more fun than my usual huge group. It's easier to learn in a small group, you get more turns to get more experience playing, and do more stuff. Combat takes so much less time with fewer people.