Why do we need scores if we have modifiers?

(As i was typing the subject of this thread the answer hit me, but I may as well ask this anyway because I might be wrong).

Hi!

I'm new to both D&D and these forums, so this will likely come across as the question of a novice.  I've been studying the rules for D&D Next for several weeks, now.  On wednesday 27th my group had its first game under these rules with freshly rolled PCs and one of the players raised this point in frustration; if all the rolls for skill check or combat are d20 + ability modifier, why did we need to make a note of our ability score?  I had no idea what to tell him.  If there was something in the rules that called for your score instead of your modifier then I've somehow overlooked it completely.

But it has, just now, occurred to me that the DM might want to temporarily want to 'buff' a player's base ability score temporarily in order to affect the modifier.

But then, having typed that, why wouldn't the DM simply say "you have gained a +/-2 (or whatever) bonus/penalty to your modifier that will last X minutes"?

So that puts me back to square 1.

After you roll your abilities to determine modifiers (adding any you get from your class or race) then for what purpose do you still need to know the original dice score?

Thanks in advance
It's mostly a hold over from previous editions where odd ability scores were used as feat prerequisites and the like.
Just off the top of my head, there are the stat bumps (+1 to two different ability scores) at 4th, 8th, 12th, 16th and 20th.  There MAY be other places where odd numbered modifiers to abilities come in.  And I know in previous editions there have been prerequisites for feats and prestige classes that required specifi number or higher and were almost always odd numbers.
There are two possible responses to this.