Playtest Report and General Impressions

--Disclaimer: This playtest report is for the January playtest packet. --

Before I get into my playtest report, let me give an introduction of myself. I've been playing D&D for 10-12 years, started with 3rd edition, and am typically the DM for whatever group of friends I can piece together. I've played and enjoyed 4th edition quite a bit as well, both as a DM and as a player.

After spending a couple weeks reading over the last playtest packet, I decided to put a playtest together with the hopes of getting a feel for the new edition so that I could put together a campaign. I found some interested friends, put together four 2nd level characters, and setup a simple adventure for them to run. I went for the classic party setup: Human Fighter, Dwarf Cleric, Elf Wizard, Halfling Rogue.

My initial impressions of the system were that it seemed like a streamlined and fresh take on the ways 3rd and 3.5 did things. Class roles seemed a lot more open and free compared to 4th's Controller/Defender/Leader/Striker roles, which was appealing. I really meshed with the notion that outside of combat the DM is basically just calling for ability checks, and it's up to the players to come up with the specifics. When I was selling my friends on this system, that was the feeling I expressed to them.