Can you scavenge as an instant?

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello everyone. I'm new to the game, only been in it for a couple weeks. Last Saturday, I was having a friendly match at my local comic shop, and the following incurred: 

I had Deadbridge Goliath in my graveyeard. I was curious if I could use his scavenge ability to add a +10/+10 counter onto Lotleth troll (Corpsejack was on the field) on my oppopnents turn. I asked somebody at the store, and they said that I could scavenge on my opponents turn as long as the "stack is empty"? Does that mean I can scavenege on my opponents turn, or at any time, for that matter, as long as there is nothing to counter it? 

I know it's an ability, but it says on the card that it can only be used as a sorcery. But, can't sorcercys only be used on your own turn? I'm very confused. Any help would be greatly, greatly appreciated.  
Hello everyone. I'm new to the game, only been in it for a couple weeks. Last Saturday, I was having a friendly match at my local comic shop, and the following incurred: 

I had Deadbridge Goliath in my graveyeard. I was curious if I could use his scavenge ability to add a +10/+10 counter onto Lotleth troll (Corpsejack was on the field) on my oppopnents turn. I asked somebody at the store, and they said that I could scavenge on my opponents turn as long as the "stack is empty"? Does that mean I can scavenege on my opponents turn, or at any time, for that matter, as long as there is nothing to counter it? 

I know it's an ability, but it says on the card that it can only be used as a sorcery. But, can't sorcercys only be used on your own turn? I'm very confused. Any help would be greatly, greatly appreciated.  

You can only use it on your turn, when the stack is empty, and you have priority.  It's not a sorcery, but it follows the same rules as sorceries for when you can use it.
Scavenge can only be activated at "sorcery timing"
that means your main phase and empty stack