New to 4E and have a question about the adventure modules

19 posts / 0 new
Last post
I am new to the 4E, I have played the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 3.5 edditions of dungeons and dragons, but have taking a break from playing do to life becoming more complicated.  Now I wish to start playing the 4E, but I dont know how many characters to run in any particular adventure module.  Before I use to make my own adventures and I didn't use many of the modules, but now I wish to use the modules, because I feel that dungeons and dragons has taken some drastic steps to become a little more like World of Warcraft, which is fine by me, but I have no idea how many characters I should get to play say the slaying stone.  I haven't found anything on the book which states how many characters to play through the adventure.  I just don't want to walk through it and have it be too easy or too difficult. 

Thank you :-) 
Typically, five PCs is considered the 'standard', though it's not hard to modify the encounters up or down a bit if you have more or fewer PCs.
If you down load the free living forgotten realms adventures they will have recomendations on how to change each encounter based on more or less they 5 players.
They are not always well thought out but they tried. 
The sea looks at the stabillity of the mountian and sighs. The mountian watches the freedom of the sea and cries.
Thank you :-)
I because I feel that dungeons and dragons has taken some drastic steps to become a little more like World of Warcraft, which is fine by me, 

Watch out, friend.  Be careful when you compare 4e to WoW.  Some people get cranky because they consider it a criticism of a great game.

If you think it's like WoW because "there's no RP in 4e," check your premises again.    

But if, like me, you think that becoming a little more like WoW is good because it introduced more balance between classes at every level, and gave every class a role and a chance to shine at that role, then I agree.