New player help

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
This might be the wrong area to ask this, but here it goes.

Small introduction: I have been wanting to play D&D since I was a kid. I grew up in Hillbilly Montana, so finding a group or people to play with was impossible, I looked for years. Well now I'm living in an area with what seems to be an active table top community. The local comic and hobby shop hosts D&D encounters, and Lair Assults. One of the games starts tonight. I have a subscription to D&D insider, and have read into the players hand book quite a bit, but there is no info as to what level character I should generate. The game is tonight, and I really really would like to actually play tonight. 

So my questions are, what level character should I bring to the game?  Is a level 1 ok? And generally how friendly/not friendly are veterans to brand new players?
This might be the wrong area to ask this, but here it goes.

Small introduction: I have been wanting to play D&D since I was a kid. I grew up in Hillbilly Montana, so finding a group or people to play with was impossible, I looked for years. Well now I'm living in an area with what seems to be an active table top community. The local comic and hobby shop hosts D&D encounters, and Lair Assults. One of the games starts tonight. I have a subscription to D&D insider, and have read into the players hand book quite a bit, but there is no info as to what level character I should generate. The game is tonight, and I really really would like to actually play tonight. 

So my questions are, what level character should I bring to the game?  Is a level 1 ok? And generally how friendly/not friendly are veterans to brand new players?

First, welcome to D&D