my dead monsters

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
i need advise, my players are mad because i will not remove the dead monsters from the mat.  i am treating that square as having a body in it and pc's cannot move through enemies space.  is that square occupied?  should i treat it as rough terrain?  thank you guys, JT

browngsp@gmail.com

may name is George.  I am looking to join a group in Portland area.  I am an experienced player and DM.  I have been playing 4E D&D regulary since 2008. and other versions most of my life.  please email me if you need a new player.  thanks,  g

i need advise, my players are mad because i will not remove the dead monsters from the mat.  i am treating that square as having a body in it and pc's cannot move through enemies space.  is that square occupied?  should i treat it as rough terrain?  thank you guys, JT

I would listen to your players. Players and monsters alike, can move through and/or occupy a space that contains a prone creature (like a dead monster or dead PC). I can't recall the actual book and page reference for this, but it's in there.

D&D Home Page - What Class Are You? - Build A Character - D&D Compendium

src="http://www.wizards.com/dnd/monster/images/banners/13.jpg"/>
D&D Home Page - What Monster Are You? - D&D Compendium

Catoblepi is partially correct. According to the Rules Compendium on page 314, you can move through a creature's square if they have the Helpess condition (not neccessarily Prone, though that is frequently associated with Helpess.) This means that dead creatures, either enemies, allies, or characters would have the Helpless condition and their squares would be able to be moved through.

Now, my friends and I have a houserule that states that a dead creature's square is considered to be difficult terrain. This is not rules as written, but it's just something that makes sense to us. 

Your players are correct, however, when it comes to rules as written.