Keeping the PCs coming back for more

52 posts / 0 new
Last post
Disclaimer: You can probably get away with mostly skimming. I do go on, it's been said.

So, my game hasn't even started yet and I'm already running into problems. I anticipated problems, but some of them I am already facing were outside what I expected.

First off, I am new to DMing, please keep this in mind. Secondly, relatively speaking, I feel I have only a small amount of experience with pnp gaming in general as I am 28 and have only been playing pnp for the last two years. Third, I feel completely up to the challenge or I would not have attempted to start up a game to begin with and I love a challenge. Lastly, I love fantasy, I love gaming, I have thoroughly enjoyed all of my pnp experiences to date. I fancy myself a writer and have found that coming up with scenerios to put people in is a great diversion when I have writer's block on my current project and helps me to get back in the groove. Basically, I'm more than happy to devote some of my personal time to make a game happen as I tend to enjoy almost every aspect of this game.

That said, I loathe feeling like I have failed at anything and I am looking for advice on how to avoid feeling this way toward hosting a game. All of my PCs got their characters set up and we were set to launch last weekend, no one showed. Granted, each and every person had a very plausible reason from death in the family to a sick child. Now, don't get me wrong, I completely understand that a game will only take priority over such matters when a person has their priorities more than a little screwed up. I don't hold that against anyone. We are set to go tomorrow evening and have had one cancellation. The party is five strong so anyone missing puts them at a noticeable disadvantage, two missing puts them out of commission for most of the planned encounters.