Building a Low Powered world in DDNext, advice wanted

I have been playing DnD since 2001 and have been running (Mostly in a co-DM fashion) since 2007. My group has normally played in a high powered setting chiefly designed by a friend or the Forgotten Realms.

For the introduction of 5e I wanted to run a much lower powered game, something akin to the stories from the 1e game my parents would tell me about playing. In creating this world I am seeking help from experienced DMs on just about anything. 
01. Any websites you suggest I read?
02. Any good modules I should use for inspiration?
03. How low should I make the magic?
04. Instead of magic items, what did you use as rewards?
05. How did characters play spell casters and how did NPCs see them?
06. Was the world mostly human or a mix or the races?
07. Any podcast out there that I should check out? Advice or recorded games.
08. Any other advice for a DM

I know I could just use another setting (I think Greyhawk and Dark Sun are both low powered) but I would like to inject my own ideas into the setting that will more than likely hold us for 3 to 5 years.

I'm not sure if low-powered is quite what you're going for, but if you're going for a more AD&D feel to the game the main thing is characters die a lot more often. In that regard, it's low-powered 'cause your big powerful badass dude can fall down a pit trap and be killed instantly from the fall. The traps weren't all just death traps though. Sometimes they'd do something more insidious like change your race, personality or just dump you somewhere else far away with no simple way back.

I'd look at some adventure modules too. Dragon Mountain is iconic and it kicks high level ass with kobolds.

Grab an old DMG too. Flip through that and you'll get a pretty good idea what AD&D was supposed to feel like.

We used to play like this back in 2nd ed. How low powered are we talking about here? Historical levels of magic, Greek mythology levels or low magic?