3/12/2013 Feature: "The Creation of Magic: The Gathering"

23 posts / 0 new
Last post
This thread is for discussion of the feature article "The Creation of Magic: The Gathering", which goes live Tuesday morning on magicthegathering.com.
Really? Really? They couldn't have gotten Garfield to write an article about the history of Magic for the game's twentieth anniversary?
I enjoyed the read, though the comments about rares vs commons in terms of power level vs cost made me sigh as I look at today's market. :P

Still I thought it was interesting how a game of aliens and a baseball card game helped inspire Magic.
I wonder how Garfield feels about the "rich kid syndrome" becoming true.
I haven't read this before and found it interesting, even illuminating.

Shame the "rich kid syndrome" became true. Of course, it didn't help that at some point Garfield himself thought that degenerate decks were ok, and that the community itself would sort it out. I started playing in Unlimited, but stopped after playing against too many Mountain + Black Lotus -> Channel -> Fireball decks and other equally silly decks with completely non-interactive games. I realised the game was degenerate and stopped playing for many, many years. If he had from the start decided to cut out the degenerate decks (power nine mainly) from the published version, Magic would have had a much better footing from the start.

Moving the broken stuff to rare was actually just worse, since only few kids could afford making those silly decks, and those who could, held onto them more dearly. If all of the power nine had actually been printed at common, there would have been more chance of the community self-regulating itself back then, saying "Don't play these" because the degenerate decks would have been obvious to everyone. But then again, degenerate cards should never have been printed, at any rarity.

[The same could be said of the original dual lands, which were rare and pretty much strictly better than basics.]