USA Control...A different approach

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
So, this is an American control deck that I put together to play with some cards that I enjoy.  It's my first go-round with something like this, so suggestions are welcome.  Thanks!  Here goes:

Sideboard:

[deck]2 Psychic Spiral
1 Jace, Memory Adept
2 Pithing Needle
2 Detention Sphere
1 Oblivion Ring
2 Rest in Peace
2 Counterflux
2 Feeling of Dread
1 Blind Obedience[/deck]    
I am really new to Magic and my knowledge is pretty limited...but from what I've seen thus far, the deck you've listed would be nuts to play against. There are enough control elements here to disrupt your opponent's pace of play and there's a ton of power available to you as the game progresses.

I'd be interested to hear how this performs against friends or at FNM.

Really inventive deck.    
New build:

Any other suggestions?  The strategy is to control the board and tempo until you miracle an Entreat or set up with non-creature spells, such as Gideon or Assemble.  Any feedback is appreciated!

@ BeardTron: Thanks for the compliments.  I think this deck is the type that is going to win matches 1-0 due to time constraints.  It's extremely annoying to play against, and I haven't had the opportunity to play against another control matchup, so I'm not sure how it'll perform there.         
As for side board I would suggest the following searing spear, pillar of flame, detention sphere or oblivion ring, giest of saint traft or phyrexian metamorph and maybe witchbane orb, blind obedience, and or rest in peace.
Drop a unsummon[c] for another [c]azorius charm
If you have then snapcaster mage would like to join your deck
If you have trouble with other control decks side board Psychic Spiral

and would Mystic Retrieval work? or to high mana?