4e Tiefling deciding what class to choose. Help me decide!

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello,
I'm new to the game of dungeons and dragons, and by new I mean I have no idea what I'm doing. I'm teaching myself for the next month with a group of friends.
So far we are working on characters. I have decided to choose a tiefling for my race. I like the look as well as what I've read they are good for.
For my classes I have three picked out:
1. Warlock with fey pact
2. Necromancer with hex powers (not minion master)
3.sorcerer with wild magics

From what I understand tieflings make excellent warlocks and wizards. I really want to be the necromancer but warlock is my second choice.
Can anyone help me decide or tell me what I should be looking for or watching against?

It really depends on what your goals are. Many people find that the most mechanically sound characters are more fun to play because they do their jobs well. Of the three options you posted, the tiefling warlock will be the most mechanically sound, though I would recommend the Infernal pact over Fey for Tieflings. What resources (books, compendium, dragon magazine, etc.) are available to you? Keep in mind that you can refluff (i.e., change the description of powers, feats, etc. in D&D 4E) anything to invoke the flavor you desire.
Definitely warlock imo. Refluff it to be your necromancer.  The best way to think of a class in 4e is a mechanical chassis.  When you start getting caught up in "I want to play a "- insert old style class here -" often times you'll be disappointed.  The best way to go about it is decide what characteristics you want your character to have, then pick the chassis that best represents that play style.