How do i deal with my players being too strong for their level?

23 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm fairly new to DM'ing, and the group I have been playing with seems to have gotten much stronger than what I believe they should be. This is partly my fault for letting a few extra peices of magic gear fall into their hands but I feel like its a bit more serious than that. The party breezes through encounters that should be very challenging for their level. However if I use encounters even higher level than that I risk the party being decimated by the end of the first round. 

Any suggestions? 
I'm fairly new to DM'ing, and the group I have been playing with seems to have gotten much stronger than what I believe they should be. This is partly my fault for letting a few extra peices of magic gear fall into their hands but I feel like its a bit more serious than that. The party breezes through encounters that should be very challenging for their level. However if I use encounters even higher level than that I risk the party being decimated by the end of the first round. 

Any suggestions? 

Let them enjoy it for a while.

Then, ramp up the combat encounters slightly.

Then, ramp up the out of combat encounters slightly.

From there, gradually increase it until you notice them becoming more fatigued by the encounters than they usually would be. If they start complaining, just let them know that perhaps their stuff is outclassed and it's time to find new gear. If they don't complain, it won't be long until the encounters become normalized for them. And you can go back to attaining balance in a natural manner. 
My username should actually read: Lunar Savage (damn you WotC!) *Tips top hat, adjusts monocle, and walks away with cane* and yes, that IS Mr. Peanut laying unconscious on the curb. http://asylumjournals.tumblr.com/

Any suggestions? 

Let them enjoy it for a while.

Then, ramp up the combat encounters slightly.

Then, ramp up the out of combat encounters slightly.