Friday Night Magic Question--New Player

18 posts / 0 new
Last post
I just started playing Magic two weeks ago and I'd like to go to my local FNM sometime soon to play with some folks.  Is it okay etiquette to request the opposing player to briefly explain each card they play as I do not have a knowledge of many of the cards floating in standard? I am not sure if players do this to begin with and maybe this is a silly question. 

Thanks. 
Depends on the room. At my FNM it would be OK. I know some places that would give warnings for it if you did it constantly. Best idea would be to talk to whoever is running the event and ask ahead of time.

New Players Click Here
This board uses a feature known as Autocard. It allows you to tag a card or group of cards and link them directly to the Gatherer for easy reference.

Here's how it works: Say I start a discussion about Lightning Bolt. It is well and fine for people who are familiar with Lightning Bolt and everything Lightning Bolt does.

Suppose somebody doesn't know what this card does.

I can autocard like this: [c]Lightning Bolt[/c] and it appears to everyone like this: Lightning Bolt.

You can do the same thing to an entire decklist at once by using [deck] and [/deck] at the begining and end of your list respectively.

This will make your decks easier to understand and get you better responses.

Here are some useful links to get you started:

Building Your First Deck

The Rule of Nine

Magic: The Gathering Rules

Magic: The Gathering Formats

Tips & Tricks

Catotheyounger wrote: