DMing 3.0 or 4e

47 posts / 0 new
Last post
I started playing D&D back in 1983, Greyhawk and Blackmoor, but our regular group quickly changed over to the Forgotten Realms. I pretty much ended up DMing exclusively after that. I played in a weekly regular group up to about the end of 1993. We even had a game going overseas during Desert Storm. I still have all my FR, AD&D, 3.0 and 3.5 books. I am still rather confident that I could successfully DM campaigns under those rules. I know the Forgotten Realms setting very well and feel I can immerse the players in the setting.

However, with 4e being out I wonder if it might be better to give it a try. I bought the red box and ran my daughter and her friend through a quick adventure and they seemed to have a blast. It made me remember some good times. So I am looking for some advice. Stick with what I know best 3.0/3.5 and teach my new players old school or take the plunge into 4e. I have read many reviews that 4e has become a Warcraft pnp which scares me.  

As far as 4e books what will I need to pick up to DM a successful campaign if I take the plunge. 
I have read many reviews that 4e has become a Warcraft pnp which scares me.

Be at ease. The edition rectifies combat, which has long been needed, and the way they decided to do that was to give everyone some constant powers and everyone some limited powers, instead of trying to balance some characters with constant abilities (like fighters) and some with limited powers (like wizards). That's the major change from past editions, and the main reason people claim it's like Warcraft.

Other than that, the game works as it always has, though with a lot of the vain attempts at realism toned down. There's still roleplaying and problem solving and interaction and exploration. I recommend it, and I'm happy to answer any questions about it here or over Private Message.