Shapeshifter Rules

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Because "shapeshifter"s count as all creature types, do they count as all creature types when in your hand?
For example: if I had a Etherium Sculptor on the feild, would his ability work with a shapeshifter in my hand counting him as an artifact, making him cost 1 colorless less to cast?
Shapeshifters don't count as all creature types.  You are thinking of the ability "Changeling"

Changelings are all creature types in all zones including your hand.  But Artifact is not a creature type it is a card type.
MTG Rules Advisor

The Shapeshifter creature type has no special rules (no creature type has). The Changeling keyword does.

A creature (or tribal card) with Changeling has all creature types, all the time, in all zones. They have "shapeshifter" in the type line more as flavour than anything else, just so it doesn't look empty.

Shapeshifter, Elf, Goblin, Soldier, Vampire, Beast are creature types. It's a card subtype linked to the Creature and Tribal card types. A full list:

205.3m. Creatures and tribals share their lists of subtypes; these subtypes are called creature types. The creature types are Advisor, Ally, Angel, Anteater, Antelope, Ape, Archer, Archon, Artificer, Assassin, Assembly-Worker, Atog, Aurochs, Avatar, Badger, Barbarian, Basilisk, Bat, Bear, Beast, Beeble, Berserker, Bird, Blinkmoth, Boar, Bringer, Brushwagg, Camarid, Camel, Caribou, Carrier, Cat, Centaur, Cephalid, Chimera, Citizen, Cleric, Cockatrice, Construct, Coward, Crab, Crocodile, Cyclops, Dauthi, Demon, Deserter, Devil, Djinn, Dragon, Drake, Dreadnought, Drone, Druid, Dryad, Dwarf, Efreet, Elder, Eldrazi, Elemental, Elephant, Elf, Elk, Eye, Faerie, Ferret, Fish, Flagbearer, Fox, Frog, Fungus, Gargoyle, Germ, Giant, Gnome, Goat, Goblin, Golem, Gorgon, Graveborn, Gremlin, Griffin, Hag, Harpy, Hellion, Hippo, Hippogriff, Homarid, Homunculus, Horror, Horse, Hound, Human, Hydra, Hyena, Illusion, Imp, Incarnation, Insect, Jellyfish, Juggernaut, Kavu, Kirin, Kithkin, Knight, Kobold, Kor, Kraken, Lammasu, Leech, Leviathan, Lhurgoyf, Licid, Lizard, Manticore, Masticore, Mercenary, Merfolk, Metathran, Minion, Minotaur, Monger, Mongoose, Monk, Moonfolk, Mutant, Myr, Mystic, Nautilus, Nephilim, Nightmare, Nightstalker, Ninja, Noggle, Nomad, Octopus, Ogre, Ooze, Orb, Orc, Orgg, Ouphe, Ox, Oyster, Pegasus, Pentavite, Pest, Phelddagrif, Phoenix, Pincher, Pirate, Plant, Praetor, Prism, Rabbit, Rat, Rebel, Reflection, Rhino, Rigger, Rogue, Salamander, Samurai, Sand, Saproling, Satyr, Scarecrow, Scorpion, Scout, Serf, Serpent, Shade, Shaman, Shapeshifter, Sheep, Siren, Skeleton, Slith, Sliver, Slug, Snake, Soldier, Soltari, Spawn, Specter, Spellshaper, Sphinx, Spider, Spike, Spirit, Splinter, Sponge, Squid, Squirrel, Starfish, Surrakar, Survivor, Tetravite, Thalakos, Thopter, Thrull, Treefolk, Triskelavite, Troll, Turtle, Unicorn, Vampire, Vedalken, Viashino, Volver, Wall, Warrior, Weird, Werewolf, Whale, Wizard, Wolf, Wolverine, Wombat, Worm, Wraith, Wurm, Yeti, Zombie, and Zubera.

Artifact is a card type, just like Creature, Enchantment, Land, Tribal and others.

So, in short, Cairn Wanderer, Taurean Mauler, Crib Swap (and the token it creates) all have the Changeling keyword ability, so they have all creature types. They aren't artifacts, because 'artifact' is not a creature type.

Torchling, Nightsky Mimic and Duplicant don't have the Changeling ability, so their only creature type is Shapeshifter. Notice Duplicant is an artifact creature, because it says so on the type line.

okay yeah this is true. I knew about the artifact thing I just confused shapeshifters with changelings, and was asking if they were all creature types in all zones.
tribal and creature cards with changeling are all creature types in all zones, yes

DCI Certified Judge & Goth/Industrial/EBM/Indie/Alternative/80's-Wave DJ
DJ Vortex

DCI Certified Judge since July 13, 2013
DCI #5209514320

My Wife's Makeup Artist Page <-- cool stuff - check it out

Sign In to post comments