Side Stories and Changeing DMs

12 posts / 0 new
Last post

So I discovered that it's really hard to make a session. It takes a lot of effort and eventually I found that it was near impossible to keep up with demand. So I decided that I would ask each person to make at least one story Arc as a side quest. Each Arc seems to last anywhere from 2-4 10 hour sessions, and although it's easy for me to come up with a story, it seems like everyone else is having a hard time.

I'm a Writer with a English/Psych double major and do this sort of thing as a hobby, but the group I have seems to not know how even the most basic structure of stories work. They're having a hard time coming up with reasons why NPC's are doing what they are doing (like a level 15 wizard losing his familiar because his familiar somehow forgot what it was doing and that it even existed.) Comming up with puzzles that are fair, and overall plots. A lot of them are excited to be able to run their own Session, while others are a little shyer. I’m doing this for two reasons, to give myself a break, and to help them understand the game better because they are all new. After knowing all that here's my question.

How can I help people write a good story and a good set of puzzles/encounters/NPC's without just giving them the awnsers. Should I just guide them with the mechanics and making it fun without any focus on plot? Or should I just give them a scenario that I write up if they can’t think of a good one.

So I discovered that it's really hard to make a session. It takes a lot of effort and eventually I found that it was near impossible to keep up with demand. So I decided that I would ask each person to make at least one story Arc as a side quest. Each Arc seems to last anywhere from 2-4 10 hour sessions, and although it's easy for me to come up with a story, it seems like everyone else is having a hard time.