Home Made Monsters

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
So, I have been DMing for about 2 years, mostly in 4e, and am very much into the world creation aspect of the game (eg making detailed maps of areas, towns, dungeons, inventing languages which are spoken in areas of my games etc.) Recently, I have started to create monster stat blocks, and before using them in my campaign, I would like to see if any of these are riduculous or not. The following stat block is for a Westscott Elk Rider, a fairly simple cavalry archer. The idea behind the monster was a mobile unit that could harrass enemies from afar. The idea of harpoon shot was an arrow with a rope attached to it, which if it hit, would allow the rider to drag the target helplessly along the ground as it rode. (note Westscott is the country of origin of this unit)

Westscott Elk Rider             Level 3 Soldier
Medium natural humanoid    Exp 200
Initiative: +6
HP: 46; Bloodied: 23
AC: 19 Fortitude: 16 Reflex: 17 Will: 14
Speed 8
Valiant Charge
      The rider gains +2 to attack (as apposed to the normal +1) when charging while riding a
      Westscott Elk.  
m Short Sword (standard; at-will) Weapon
      +10 vs. AC; 1d10+3 damage; the rider can make a shortsword attack at any point
      during a move action when riding a Westscott Elk
r Shortbow (standard; at-will) Weapon
      Range 10; +10 vs. AC; 1d6+3 damage; the rider can make a shortbow attack at any point
      during a move action when riding a Westscott Elk
Harpoon Shot
      Once per encounter, the rider when using a shortbow attack before or in the middle of a move
      action, can, after the attack hits, pull the target as it moves. The target is pulled the same
      number of squares and in the same direction as the rider moved, and at the end of the
      movement falls prone and takes 1d8 damage.
Native Mount
      The rider ignores difficult terrain when he is riding a Westscott Elk and is on any natural
      Westscott terrain.