The most boring part of a game?

126 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey everyone, I've been lurking on this forums for ideas for a little bit, but it's my first time posting and I'd like to pose a question.

I've been playing, mostly 3.5e, but most recently 4e, for about 6 years now, I've DM'd a few games but mostly play. The reason I'm posting is that my friends and I have been recording and producing a weekly internet show/podcast of our game and I wanted to get some opinions on what you think are some boring aspects of the game I should try to avoid in order to make it more interesting?

I understand that most poeple have different ideas as to what parts of the games are fun, but are there any pitfalls that you've experienced in the past that have seemed to cause the game to loose it's fun factor and caused players to fall off the game. I'm looking to try and make this game last for a while and at the same time make it interesting for onlookers.

Thanks in advance!  Smile
Blocking and arguing are very boring, especially when it's about mitigating failure and penalties. I prefer it when the first idea is accepted and added on to, and when failure is interesting enough that there's no real incentive to argue one's way out of it.

If I have to ask the GM for it, then I don't want it.

In no particular order, these are the things I consider boring when they happen in D&D:

• Inn/tavern scenes, especially if the PCs are "gettin' ta know ya."

• Playing out of travel, unless that travel is the adventure and is compelling in some way.

• Shopping scenes. Or any accounting chats regarding inventory.

• Player failure mitigation discussions where they go around and around coming up with a plan, shooting each other's ideas down.

• Quest-giver info dumps.

No amount of tips, tricks, or gimmicks will ever be better than simply talking directly to your fellow players to resolve your issues.