3.5e, 3e imbalance? Can somebody explain?

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
Im very new to this, im playing a 3.5 campaign right now, as a dwarven defender, and Ive made it to the 9th level.

People have said there is imbalances between fighters and spell casters, but I dont really see it.
How exactly is there an imbalance?
Short answer - do a google search. Also, the previous editions (or maybe the 5e playtest) board.
Longer answer - the disparity hinges on how much the party optimizes and the way the DM runs the game. Basically, at 9th level a spellcaster can conceivably cast devastating attack spells whilst invisibly flying for every encounter (especially when scrolls and wands are factored in). And those are class features.
Comparatively, a 9th-level warrior type could temporarily fly, go invisible, and see invisible things within short range with magic items, and can conceivably do stupid things like manipulate the crazy damage multiplication with other bits of the rules like using Power Attack on a touch attack (it's possible....). But that requires a fair bit of optimization, finding combo exploits across multiple books,  and generally reeks of disgusting cheese.
4e D&D is not a "Tabletop MMO." It is not Massively Multiplayer, and is usually not played Online. Come up with better descriptions of your complaints, cuz this one means jack ****.
Check out TV tropes.com "Linier fighter, quadratic wizard."

a low level fighter hits a guy with a sword
a low level wizard zaps a guy for a bit of damage

a higher level fighter hits a guy 3 times with a sword
a higher level wizard insta kills a small villiage.

What dose a lv 9 fighter or thief do that a wizard can't do better with a spell.
The sea looks at the stabillity of the mountian and sighs. The mountian watches the freedom of the sea and cries.
As the 2nd poster said, it largely depends on a group.