Another "Getting into Modern Thread"

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
I've been playing Standard for about a year now and I love playing competitively but the card pool is starting to feel limiting and a little stale; thus I'd like to get into Modern (it's cheaper than Legacy right?). I'm a pretty good trader so I think I could trade my way in though 90% of my collection is Standard so that will be a factor. Besides that, what are some decent yet cheap decks to make? I know it's kind of an oxymoron but I have to start somewhere; I can't just jump into Jund. My only initial input is I think Zoo looks really fun to play, though I heard it's not doing too well right now without Wild Nacatl. The only deck I really don't want to play is RDW between it being mono-colored and over all looks boring to pilot.

Thanks
Here's a (not as recent) Top 8 list for Modern.  That should give you some idea of what you're working with.  Now's a good time to get into Modern since the Shock-lands are just about everywhere and with Modern Masters comming out soonish.

@mikemearls The office is basically empty this week, which opens up all sorts of possibilities for low shenanigans

@mikemearls In essence, all those arguments I lost are being unlost. Won, if you will. We're doing it MY way, baby.

@biotech66 aren't you the boss anyway? isn't "DO IT OR I FIRE YOU!" still an option?

@mikemearls I think Perkins would throat punch me if I ever tried that. And I'd give him a glowing quarterly review for it.

Hahaha alright so I just looked at thoses decks and some "Zoo" lists and they ranged from 1 to 2 thousand dollars xD Modern isn't super popular at any of my LCS so it there a cheap "break in" deck I could lean towards? Like in Standard it's always RDW

Have you considered a Ravager/Affinity-style deck?  I think you can put one of those together for under $200 if you have some of the more recent cards like Mox Opal on hand already.