the impossible Orzhov?

13 posts / 0 new
Last post

Let's be clear: i'm a newbie
I like Orzhov, alot. I've read a bunch of thread and tried to figure out how to make this guild based deck work. Reading post i've seen different playstiles, and now i'm comfused on this guild. I've understood the hype over Blood Artist but sincerely, i don't like it.Is it possible to make a deck based on the actual mechanic of this guild without life leeching by deaths? Is it obligatory to use a card of the past block to make a decent deck? Do all new Orzhov deck NEED that card? I hope not. So that's what i'm working about. A control (?) extort deck with lifelink enchants on few beafy creatures and removal all the way.

20 CREATURES

16 SPELLS
[deck] 

2x Smite
2X Orzhov Charm
3x Blind Obedience
3x Ultimate Price
4x Murder
2x Gift of Orzhova
[/deck]  

24 LANDS
[deck]
4x Godless Shrine
4x Orzhov Guilgate
8x Swamp
8x Plains
[/deck] 

Extort is a WONDERFUL mechanic.  Most of the bodies that HAVE extort, are not.

FIRST OFF...   

Vault of the Archangel, run 2 of these.
you WILL need 4x Isolated Chapel for better manafixing AND because Gates ALWAYS must come in tapped.

Sindic of Tithes, Basillica Screecher are just bad bodies....  They're sooo squishy and aren't reliable damage.  If you absolutely must have a flying extort,  run the kingpin. He's worth the extra 1 mana. As for the 'beefy creatures' portion you mentioned... you have no beef.  You have Alms Beast but he is more of a burden than a boon.  Swap him out for Desecration Demon. he out classes the alms beast by far.