RUG Miracle Grow

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey guys, long time lurker first time poster here. I'm still pretty new to standard and I'm trying to put together a (moderately) budgeted deck for FNM coming up. I've heard of old miracle grow decks in past rotations and I love the idea so I took a crack at it. I would love to get some advice before I try it out in person, so let me have it

Creatures: 18

Spells: 19
[deck] 4 Think Twice
2 Desperate Ravings
2 Rewind
4 Spell Rupture
2 Mizzium Mortars
2 Mystic Genesis
1 Mystic Retrieval
2 Artful Dodge[/deck]

Land: 23
No idea how to distribute. The only dual lands I own are 2 hinterland harbors.  

So this deck has been destroying my friends in casual play, but we all know how little that has to do with Standard. The things I'm most concerned with are finding decent drops that can evolve past staticaster. I'm loving staticaster in this deck so far, but there may be better options like Wolfir Avenger or whatever else. I'm also a little heavy on the counterspell side, but I don't really know how else to build. I like having rewind as an option to either Think Twice or throw out a Shambleshark/staticaster after I've countered. Mizzium Mortars should probably go because I cant really pay its Overload cost, I was thinking maybe Clan Defiance? Anyway, all advice is appreciated, thanks!
Welcome to the forum.       If you can't afford the mana base, you should probably not run 3 colors.  Not trying to be mean, it's just the truth.  Evolving Wilds can help, but it only goes so far.  Borderland Ranger would be good for fixing as well.  For this deck, red is the weak point.  Try Cyclonic Rift in place of Mizzium Mortars.  It looks like this deck is trying to be 3 or 4 other decks at once, Talrand+flashback/DryadGro/Staticaster without peddler/Evolve, which is bad.  You need to find some focus here.