Good read on the mind-set of "false" options and the railroad

152 posts / 0 new
Last post
A great article from the Tao of D&D that I thought I'd share. Hope people find it helpful!

*as a fair warning there is some profanity in it. Read at your discretion. Smile

tao-dnd.blogspot.com/2013/01/the-ethic-t...

I'm on a journey of enlightenment, learning and self-improvement. A journey towards mastery. A journey that will never end. If you challenge me, prepare to be challenged. If you have something to offer as a fellow student, I will accept it. If you call yourself a master, prepare to be humbled. If you seek me, look to the path. I will be traveling it.

Proudly playing in many wrong ways. I'm not afraid of playing wrong according to the rules. Why are you?

100 Crack Reply of the Yagamifire. You are already wrong.

I'm on the fence on this idea.

Taken to it's extreme, it would imply that prewritten modules are all bad because they are prewritten.

If the DM prepares the Tomb of Horrors and then the party decides at the last minute, "Nah, we'd rather go to the giant caves", then that's simply unfair to the DM.

I'm on the fence on this idea.

Taken to it's extreme, it would imply that prewritten modules are all bad because they are prewritten.

If the DM prepares the Tomb of Horrors and then the party decides at the last minute, "Nah, we'd rather go to the giant caves", then that's simply unfair to the DM.

Most prewritten modules are, basically, bad as far as the general process of an open-world D&D game goes. Are they okay for hack/slash style and such? Sure. Can they work as GREAT bones to add meat to for a campaign? Sure! Are they a great pinch-hitter for filling in content on a map, etc? Absolutely! They just can't be the end-all-be-all of a campaign because they'd be rather disjointed. Even in a module series, the players basically have very limited options because of the nature of the module...you just can't account for everything.