Google Maps Eberron

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
I'm a software developer by trade. I like programming. Computers make my job as a DM easier. One thing I've always wanted for my campaigns was an easy way to find the distances between locations and the average travel times given different methods of travel.

So I have begun looking at the Google Maps API. And I intend to make a searchable, zoomable, Eberron map. And I'm looking for ideas of what people might want as features. I can't promise I'd implement all (or any) of the suggested features, but if there's something that seems useful or interesting, I'll consider spending some time on it.

For the most part, I think street-level mapping is out of the question. A few of the cities have maps that could be included (Stormreach springs to mind), but I may restrict things to inter-city level (from Sharn to Tashalatora, The Glass Plateau to Korth, etc).

Firstly, what modes of travel are most useful? I've got:

1. Walking (I'm debating just calculating direct euclidian distance or taking the time to map mountain passes, roads, and the like)
2. Horse
3. Lightning Rail (routes will be included)
4. Airship
5. Sailing Ship
6. Elemental Galleon
7. Orien caravan
Call me Ender.
Seems like you've covered all the bases there! I'd love to see something like that! 

I seem to remember seeing discussions on these forums about the differences in the overall sizes of the maps in 3e and 4e. Which version of the maps were you planning on using?