The campaign setting and situation (new to D&D, taking over from a GM who quit)

19 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello everyone, thanks for reading!

I'm about to take over a campaign because our GM quit.  I'm new to roleplaying in general, but I offered to take over the GM role, as the veteran players said to go for it: I'll run the story and they'll help with the rules.  There seems to be more to GMing than just story and rules, particularly planning and reacting to players.  I would love some advice on those, and outline my plans below.

First of all, let me say that I had originally planned a long plot for the PCs to follow, but after reading some GM advice, decided to create a situation that is more dynamic, and the PCs can interact with in their own way.  Then I can think how the situation would respond to their actions.

The campaign world is Warhammer-influenced, where the Empire of man is beset by threats on many fronts (political structure similar to the Holy Roman Empire).  Currently the gods of Chaos have grown strong and are sending incursions across the northern borders of the Empire.  The realm prepares for war.  To the south, some talk of strange rumours of people who have already died being seen walking the streets at night, but many dismiss these as tale tales.  Known only to a very few on the Emperor's council and the PCs, there is an underground race of rat people called Skaven with a huge under-empire spanning the Empire and beyond, but mired in endless civil war.  Lately though there has been some cooperation between factions that have resulted in surface raids.

The story to date in brief (of which I'm aware, as I jumped in at level 5, now level 8):
    -Skaven took over a Dwarven mine in a northern province. The Council member for that area requested help from the Emperor and the party was sent in.