Magic Item Creation (4e)

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to being a DM. I have played through 2 sessions with my friends and so far we are really enjoying it. However, having read more and more of the rules, I want to start handing out treasure for my party. I understand how to roll a d20 for gold, gems, and art pieces, but I'm having a bit of trouble with Magic Items. I understand the roll structure (odd = common, even = uncommong, 20 = rare). However my question is this:

How and/or where do I go about finding magic items (weapons, armours, potions, etc.)?

I have the Rules Comendium as well as the "Heroes of..." book and the DM Book. They all give examples of specific magic items as well as the properties that magic items should have at certain levels (e.g. Level 1-5 Hide Armor should have +1 enchantment bonus, +3 Armor bonus). Are these all the magic items I can use or am I missing something? Where do I find magic items with crazy and cool properties and powers? Do I make them up myself?

I really tried to search on Google for this answer but I couldn't find one that covered all the bases I'm looking for. Sorry for the long post, but I just wanted to ask everything in one shot.

I'd be very grateful for any help.
The original PHB, Adventurer's Vaults 1 and 2, Mordenkainen's Magical Emporium.
There is also, of course, the Compendium, which your Insider membership gives you access to.
Also, random treasure is stupid.  Give 'em what they want.

Cry Havoc!  And let slip the hogs of war!

Random treasure is not inherently "stupid".  Treasure the players don't want is not, however, treasure.

Which means that sure, toss in useless crap sometimes.  Drop in a L+2 item that gives a flat bonus to a single skill!  Let the PCs find a disturbing hoard of Vicious Daggers +1 at L12.  Toss in Jester's Shoes with a caveat that no matter what you do, they *must* be Big Floppy Shoes that look ridiculous.