Some Assembly Required

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
Dungeon Magazine #208: Some Assembly Required (A D&D adventure for characters of level 1-3.)

This is my first time playing an adventure from the magazine and I'm not sure how to scale it for my party.  The party consists of 5 level 1 players.  The first encounter reads Combat Encounter Level 1 (500XP).  The second encounter reads Combat Encounter Level 2-3 (600-800XP)  The tenth encounter reads Combat Encounter Level 5 (1,200XP)  What am I supposed to do with that? 
Five level ones running through a published adventure for levels 1-3, where most published adventurers are geared towards five characters... Sounds about right to me.

About all I can say is to try and come up with alternative combat options so that the players have other ways to win and lose aside from battle.

Happy Gaming
So you don't think the second and tenth encounter will be too difficult for them as is?  The tenth encounter has them fighting a level 6 elite brute, a level 5 controller, two level 2 soldiers, and ten level 1 minion skirmishers.  I dunno.  That seems a bit much for five level 1 PCs.
The second is fine.
The 10th is probably a little tough, but if you track XP they may actually hit level 2 before then.
Also, (i haven't looked at the module) but i'm guess that the last one has something inconsequential you can pull out to make it easier (some minions, or maybe if there are like 3 archers/soldiers you can reduce it to 1-2). But i'm guessing that the last encounter is meant to be hard, and level +4 is tough, but not outside the realm of possibility.
FWIW [4e designer] baseline assumption was that roughly 70% of your feats would be put towards combat effectiveness, parties would coordinate, and strikers would do 20/40/60 at-will damage+novas. If your party isn't doing that... well, you are below baseline, so yes, you need to optimize slightly to meet baseline. -Alcestis