Aspiring MTG Artist - 'Rampant Oceanids' Illustration

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello everyone,

My name is Joel Hustak and I'm an aspiring MTG artist. Below is an illustration I created for The Art Order Nymph Challenge. 

Flavor text: "When sailing the high seas, sailors know best to stay out of the water for fear of the rampant oceanids below."

If you would like to check out more of my artwork, visit my website or my blog.

Comments and criticism are both welcome. 

Why do they have breasts? If they don't have nipples, they seem kinda redundant (Cue "egg-sacks or swim bladders" hand wave. ).

The colors are very good. The pink stands out from the green. The blur seems a bit excessive on the fishes in the lower left. The face is expressive. 

It looks really good, and I could easily see something like this on an actual Magic card.
Nice work! I think this is a strong piece. I think that if the intention is to put this on a card you might have a bit too much negative space, and there's something kind of odd about the fact that you have such a large amount of space off to the right when she's gazing in the opposite direction, if that makes sense. Since the eye is liable to drift off toward the side she's turned to, all that empty space on the right seems unnecessary. 

Otherwise I think it's really nice work, and I like what you've got up on your site.

If you feel like you need something to practice on that's magic-related, might I suggest checking out the Expanded Multiverse project, as linked to in my signature? We're always looking for artists to join up, and we've got a few people who are fairly good at giving art critiques.
Coming Soon to the Magic: Expanded Multiverse: FRAGMENTS: A Shards of Alara Anthology
(Click through to view the cover and announcement page)Want to get your work in the Expanded Multiverse? Come join the project! Oh, and check out my blog, Storming the Ivory Tower: making sense of academia, media, and culture twice weekly.