How is this game comparable to MAgic online?

17 posts / 0 new
Last post
i cant get enough of this game so i am thinking of magic online

in terms of
1-Money spent ( i feel from what i read i will have to pay hundreds and hundreds of dollars so i can get a good deck to play with)
2-Number People online to play with
3-Broken or not..I mean people who pay money, get good cards, and you if you didnt pay money your cards will be very stupid, and you will be always beaten online.
4-strategic base or money base.. similar to the previous point..to win does it as easy task if you pay money, or even if you pay money, you have to be strategic
I started playing Magic Online pretty regularly in December.

1. money spent - I spent about 100 dollars in December.  But I played in a ton of draft events.  Each event costs about 14 dollars to join.  You can win booster packs if you do well; I averaged winning 2 packs in every draft event I played in - which covers half the cost of the entry fee, so my fee every time was effectively 6 dollars per event after the first (because you can pay the fee in boosters if you choose).  I played in a lot of events, and I have a huge collection of Return to Ravnica cards as a result, including several of the most expensive cards.  If I chose, I could trade those cards for event tickets and I would probably be able to play in 10 more games or so for free (but I'd lose my cards, so, no).  

100 dollars a month is way too much for me; I will play some when Gatecrash comes out but I will substantially curtail my participation.

2. number of people to play online - there are thousands.  
 I haven't played much 1v1 but there are always many games going on at once.  The coolest part about MTGO in my opinion is that you can watch any game that's taking place, and you can watch replays of games that have already occured.  Which means you get to see a lot of pretty cool decks.  Pretty much every deck I've seen is new to me.