Advice for FNM and other tournament play

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hey everyone, I'm very new to Magic: The Gathering (like two weeks) and I thought it would be a wonderful idea to improve my knowledge and skill of the game by immersing myself in Firday Night Magic and other tournaments offered at my local game shop. Long stroy short, i got my ass handed to me. It was embarrarssing to come to the shop the next morning to see my name last with the score of 0! I noticed that when I was playing, everyone seemed to have the same exact deck. they all contained lands with more than one color. Here I was using a black-blue evasion deck with only basic lands and I was getting wrecked. Does this happen to all new players and should I continue attending these events? Or should I take a step back and play with my friends before I take on these people?
Every store has its own culture and attracts its own crowd of players. Where the players welcoming? Did anyone give you advice? Did you have fun? If the answers to those questions is "no", then maybe first look around at other stores (if that is an option). It took me several tries to find a store that I like, where people are friendly, build their own decks, and where having fun is more important than winning.

Having said that, while FNM is a casual environment compared to other tournaments, even the most laid back FNMs tend to feature fairly competitive decks. Dual-colored lands are par for the course: I use them in all my decks, even though I consider myself an intermediate, casual player.

Now I'm not entirely sure what you mean by everyone was laying exactly the same kind deck: If everyone was using dual-colored lands, that is, in and of itself pretty normal. On the other hand, if everyone was playing a black/red aggro deck, then that is odd (or could have been bad luck).