Asmodeus-themed character help

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Greetings and salutations.

I am new to 4e, and I've been invited to join a new game.   Figuring why the hells not, I decided to jump in, make a character, and run with it.   I decided to do this general idea - I want to make a PC that's basically an Infernal Princess (yes, a friend pointed out the theme to me).   Imagine if Asmodeus himself was killed and reincarnated into a level 1 character.

However, when I sat down to make a character, I didn't quite get what I wanted to fit on the paper.      Clever, manipulative, charismatic, devilish, slightly mischievious, with bits of imperialness blended in, yet a curiosity about the world, and an almost innocence about what's in it - sheltered upbringings will do that to you.  The character in question was raised to believe that she was a direct desendant of Asmodeus himself - not a surprise, considering that she was raised by a cult of Asmodeus.    Lavished attention on her whole life, but ran away when she realized that she was just basically being groomed to be a puppet.   Gilded cage, and all.   Neutral alignment - she was raised to be vicious, but never really put it into practice.

My initial reaction was to build a tiefling warlock - you've got hellfire, a few devil appearances, and some charms/fear effects.   Decent spread of skills, used a rod for her magic, too, just like dear "Grandpa Asmodeus" to help with that whole imperial theme.  Affinity for social things, something that the group seemed to be lacking.   Seemed easily enough.  In the end, though, I just couldn't reconsile the character.   Something felt a bit off - too much fire/ice magic thrown around with the whole striker thing in the party.    It didn't really -feel- like a devil lord anymore.    Too much Striker-role stuff, perhaps?   Or the whole odd Con thing at odds with wanting to focus on her intelegence and charisma?   I'm not really sure.