Blocking and Instant Resolutions

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
Newbie here trying to learn all rules. I have a couple simple question about attacking/blocking and playing instances.

Case #1: Offender has 1 creature, defender has  2 creatures. Offender elects to attack, defender elects to block with one of his creatures. Offender plays an instant creature kill card on the Defender's creature that is blocking and kills it. Questions..

1) Does the attacking creature's damage then pass through to the player/planeswalker? Or at the time of the block was declared, that attacking creature is then establised to deal damage to the creature and not the player, therefore the instant kills the creature leaving the attacking creature to 'wiff' his attack on the creature?

2) In the same scenerio above, after the instant was played on the defending creature elliminating it, can the defending player then elect to block with his other creature? Or, after blocking is declared, you cannot change your blocking?

Thanks in advance.
1) No, the attacking player's creature is still blocked. The attacking creature will "whiff."
2) No. Blocking creatures must all be assigned at the same time.
Thanks for the replay Bowshewicz, ok, the first answer suprised me. I think we have been playing it where it then hit the player. Now, if that that #1 scenerio if that attacking creature had trample, would it then pass to the player since you killed the defending creature and all its defence is now gone?

Now, if that that #1 scenerio if that attacking creature had trample, would it then pass to the player since you killed the defending creature and all its defence is now gone?

Correct, the attacker will be able to assign all damage to the defending Player/Planeswalker.