Jace the Mind Sculptor

65 posts / 0 new
Last post
So I'm fairly new to Magic, and one of my friends was telling me about this card, so I figured I'd check it out.

I just have to ask, why is it so expensive? It can't be used in standard anymore, its banned from Modern and Extended, so unless you play casual or legacy, it doesn't really seem worth the price.  Sure the card is great, but its got almost no use besides a friendly game or a legacy game.
Because a standard has been set for the price. Everyone wants the most money they can get for it, and because it once sold for so much money, they're reluctant to settle for less now. Some might call it greed, but I'd just say it's cold feet and fear of not getting the maximum profit.

IMAGE(http://cdn.bulbagarden.net/upload/1/1c/Spr_4p_389.png)

Because a standard has been set for the price. Everyone wants the most money they can get for it, and because it once sold for so much money, they're reluctant to settle for less now. Some might call it greed, but I'd just say it's cold feet and fear of not getting the maximum profit.

The thing is though, nobody is going to pay that price now, so people have unrealistic expectations.

I'd rather sell a great card for $20 and use that money to buy cards to tweak other decks than have it just sit on my shelf and never be able to be used. 
obviously people are paying that price, otherwise it wouldn't be at that price

just like people will pay 4 digits for a Black Lotus
proud member of the 2011 community team
It's expensive because it's one of the best Magic cards ever printed. 

holy cow, I just looked this up.  Why do people pay this much for a card?  Who has that much money to burn?

holy cow, I just looked this up.  Why do people pay this much for a card?  Who has that much money to burn?

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Supply_and_demand
The thing is though, nobody is going to pay that price now, so people have unrealistic expectations.