DMing through the 4e "Red Box"

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hello,

I may have a few questions that I post in this thread as I  go throught he very first adventure that a group of 12 year olds is doing with me. This is my first time DM'ing and I haven't played myself in a few decades so I'm a bit rusty on a lot of things.

First question : I have a couple of wizards who have spell cards to use. When a card says "Intelligence vs. Will" how do I determine if that spell works or not? The reason I ask is that the wizards have an intelligence of 18 and 20. The will of every NPC they face in the adventure has a will that is less than that. If I just look at that  as 18 vs. 12, the spell works without any roll to check. Am I missing something?

Thanks! -- Craig
The rules cover this. Read them over. Basically, roll a d20, add their Int modifier (probably +3 to +5, plus half their level) and compare the total to the target's will. All attacks work similarly, with different modifiers vs. different defenses.

[N]o difference is less easily overcome than the difference of opinion about semi-abstract questions. - L. Tolstoy

The rules cover this. Read them over. Basically, roll a d20, add their Int modifier (probably +3 to +5, plus half their level) and compare the total to the target's will. All attacks work similarly, with different modifiers vs. different defenses.

That's what I expected, but the cards themselves are a little confusing because they have a place for the players to write in their intelligence on a line that says "Int vs. Will" and the line below that asks for their Int modifier specifically for damage.

That's what I expected, but the cards themselves are a little confusing because they have a place for the players to write in their intelligence on a line that says "Int vs. Will" and the line below that asks for their Int modifier specifically for damage.