Is there an easier way to understand 4e? im new at this :/

24 posts / 0 new
Last post
i recently started playing dungeons and dragons 4e but im having alot of trouble taking in all of the information i need to know to even play the game! im talking about the types or armour and the death saving throw thing and all that. is there just an easy way to understand it all? or am i just making it more complicated then it actually is?

thanks for all replies!

Best way is to play with a few experienced people for a while, and pick it up by playing.

If you have specific confusions, asking about them in Ruels Q&A can help, but you don't learn the rules well be reading them, you learn by doing.
Harrying your Prey, the Easy Way: A Hunter's Handbook - the first of what will hopefully be many CharOp efforts on my part. The Blinker - teleport everywhere. An Eladrin Knight/Eldritch Knight. CB != rules source.
Try seeing if there is a game of DND encounters near you.  Check the main DnD page.  Those can be a good place for a "first glance" at the system.
Currently working on making a Dex based defender. Check it out here
Show
Need a few pre-generated characters for a one-shot you are running? Want to get a baseline for what an effective build for a class you aren't familiar with? Check out the Pregen thread here If ever you are interested what it sounds like to be at my table check out my blog and podcast here Also, I've recently done an episode on "Refluffing". You can check that out here
i recently started playing dungeons and dragons 4e but im having alot of trouble taking in all of the information i need to know to even play the game! im talking about the types or armour and the death saving throw thing and all that. is there just an easy way to understand it all? or am i just making it more complicated then it actually is?