Intimidate/knocking mosters out

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
Dear all,

Sorry for posting more newbie questions - I'm still new to 4e. Today my players wanted to intimidate an NPC into surrendering once bloodied. The actual situation was in the Graveyard scene in Keep on the Shadowfell.

1. Intimidating an enemy seems a pretty tough thing to do - hostile creatures/characters get +10 on their will defense against intimidation and characters are not allowed a second attempt. Are there no bonuses for the ceature being bloodied, outnumbered, or cornered (or is that DM's discretion)?  

2. Knocking characters/creatures out seems to rely on the enemy reaching zero hp. Does it need to be exactly zero? Can characters pull their punches (so to speak), only do minimum damage, downsize dice used for damage, or otherwise modify damage done? It seems a bit difficult to me to knock someone out cold if the only way to do it is to trust that the luck of the dice will land exactly the same damage as the remaining hps on the enemy.

3. Are there any other commonly used options that player characters use to capture the enemy alive (and in a condition to spill the beans)?

Many thanks in advance. 
1)  DM's discretion.  For characters with high intimidate this can actually be a near trivial thing to do.

2) No it doesn't have to be exactly 0.  When the creature reaches 0 or below a player can simply say "I deal non lethal" and the enemy isn't killed.

3) Knocking them out, tying them up and interrogating them seems to be the fan fave. 
Currently working on making a Dex based defender. Check it out here
Show
Need a few pre-generated characters for a one-shot you are running? Want to get a baseline for what an effective build for a class you aren't familiar with? Check out the Pregen thread here If ever you are interested what it sounds like to be at my table check out my blog and podcast here Also, I've recently done an episode on "Refluffing". You can check that out here