Beating hard control

19 posts / 0 new
Last post
Hi I'm relatively new to the magic scene and I'm having a lot of fun. I mostly play just casual games with friends which include lots of big multiplayer games, which are a blast and I love them. But when I pack up to go to Friday night Magic I end up just getting frustrated by all the hard control and life gain. I built a super agro red/black deck with a lot of cheap cards to do lots of damage quickly but I just couldn't compete with Azorius charms and sphinx's revelations. The meta around me sees a lot of hard control and I usually do alright going 2 and 2 most often, but I always lose matches to those control decks. I have slaughter games but I didn't draw it to exile the charms or snapcasters. Other than that what kind of deck can compete with the level of control thats about with the current meta?
You have two options: Go over or under. 
with red aggro decks if you haven't won by turn 4, you've lost

so work on that
proud member of the 2011 community team
Slaughter games is a dead draw considering you got a rakdos aggro deck, like enigma said, you want to win by turn 4 (5), that turn 4 slaughter game is just slowing you down. Aggro vs control is all about killing the control deck before he can control you.... DERP!. It's pretty much like flipping a coin, head or tail you win or lose. That turn 4 mana is better spent on something like burn spells or a 3 cmc with haste creature followed by fling for the kill.

Flinging a Geralf's messenger is quite an evil move.
I love trolls Dont hate me because I'm blunt and you cannot handle it